Hydrogen Fuels program

The Hydrogen Fuels program focuses on creating the expert technical, socio-economic and geopolitical knowledge for Australia to become a leading exporter of zero-emissions hydrogen. The project makes a clear distinction between zero-emissions hydrogen produced by renewable energy driven electrolysis, and other forms of clean hydrogen which can still contain embedded carbon emissions.

Journal articles

Short articles



  • Lorrae McArthur and Fiona Beck submitted a response to the Senate Environment and Communications References Committee on Inquiry into the Middle Arm Industrial Precinct, (October 2023) 
  • Lee White, Lorrae McArthur, Alireza Rahbari, Jorrit Gosens, Fiona Beck, Kenneth Baldwin, Emma Aisbett, Brad Riley and Reza Fazeli, submitted response to Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation on Western Australia’s Renewable Hydrogen Strategy Refresh: Stakeholder Consultation Paper 2023, (October 2023) [Submission]
  • Fiona J. Beck, Lee White, Lorrae McArthur, Wenting Cheng, Brad Riley, Emma Aisbett, Submission to the Hydrogen Headstart Consultation, (August 2023) 
  • Fiona J. Beck, Lee White, Lorrae McArthur, Wenting Cheng, Brad Riley, Emma Aisbett, Kenneth Baldwin, Reza Fazeli, Alireza Rabhari, Submission to the Hydrogen Strategy Review, (August 2023)
  • ANU Energy Change Institute, Submission to the DISER Hydrogen Certification Survey (June 2020) 
  • Emma Aisbett, Paul Burke, David Gourlay, Warwick McKibbin, Fiona Beck, Llewelyn Hughes, Frank Jotzo, Robin Purchase, Mahesh Venkataraman, James Prest, Bec Colvin, Katherine Daniell, Will Grant, Catherine Gross, Paul Wrywoll, Ken Baldwin, Submission to National Hydrogen Strategy Issues Papers (July 2019) 
  • Fiona Beck, Tory Bridges, Paul Burke, Kylie Catchpole, Llewelyn Hughes, Frank Jotzo, Yun Liu, James Prest, John Pye, Igor Skryabin, Matthew Stocks, Robin Purchase, Mahesh Venkataraman, Submission to National Hydrogen Strategy Discussion Paper (March 2019)