Leading ANU scientists recognised for their contributions to climate change science and solar energy research

20 October 2022

Leading ANU scientists, Professor Kylie Catchpole and Professor Mark Howden have been elected as a Fellows of the prestigious Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE).

Elected by their peers, ATSE Fellows are leaders in applied science, technology and engineering, and are recognised for their ability to contribute to solving the big issues facing our nation in a fast-changing world.

Professor Catchpole has pioneered work in the field of solar energy research, leading teams that have achieved world record solar cell efficiencies. Professor Catchpole is currently the Deputy Director for the ANU School of Engineering and has been awarded several fellowships including a Future Fellowship from the Australian Research Council and the inaugural John Booker Medal for Engineering Science from the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Mark Howden is the Director of the ANU Institute for Climate Energy and Disaster Solutions (ICEDS) and is recognised for his extraordinary contributions to climate change science. Professor Howden has participated in 20 Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change processes since 1991 and shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with other IPCC participants, including Al Gore.

Professor Catchpole and Professor Howden and are part of a group of 27 new ATSE Fellows, announced at the annual ATSE New Fellows event.

Professor Catchpole says that she is enthusiastic about contributing to the Academy’s great work on the use of technology to create a more sustainable society.

“I am looking forward to fostering excellence and diversity in the next generation so that young people can make their own contributions," she says.

Professor Howden says it is an honour to join the esteemed ATSE community.

“I’d like to thank the ATSE Fellowship for this distinction. It’s an honour to be a part of a community dedicated to driving evidence-based solutions to the complex challenges we all face," he said.

Other 2022 new Fellows include a parliamentary science champion, health technology innovators, computer science advocates and trailblazers in technology education.

ATSE President Professor Hugh Bradlow says that while ATSE fellows span a range of industries, it’s exciting to welcome many new fellows who are working to address the global challenge of climate change.

“While the 2022 new Fellows span multiple critical industries, we are pleased to welcome so many at the forefront of tackling climate change. They are creating better batteries to support renewable energy supplies, increasing efficiency and flexibility of solar cells and panels, and sustainable mining practices," he said.

Click here for a full list of ATSE’s 2022 new Fellows.