ANU Professor recognised for work researching the energy transition

Photo: Michael John Hood
30 November 2021

Longstanding ANU physicist, Professor Ken Baldwin, has been elected as a Fellow of the prestigious Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE).

Elected by their peers, ATSE Fellows represent expertise across Australian engineering, applied science and technology.

The accolade recognises Professor Baldwin’s extensive career achievements, which include research on the development of new laser and quantum technologies, as an advocate for science communication, as well as his work on researching the energy transition in Australia, including future export industries based on renewable energy.

“Being elected a Fellow of the Academy of Technology and Engineering is indeed an honour, and will also enable me to contribute to ATSE’s work on energy policy - a topic that will continue to be at the fore of public attention for some time,” said Professor Baldwin.

Professor Baldwin is one of 21 New Fellows announced by the ATSE at the organisation’s annual New Fellows event, which celebrates the life-long pursuit of excellence of New Fellows in their respective fields.

Just prior to the ATSE announcement, Professor Baldwin was also named as a recipient of the 2021 ANU Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Contribution to the University.

“Receiving the Chancellor’s award for Distinguished Contribution to the University and an ATSE Fellowship in the same week is a humbling experience, for which I would like to thank the many people I’ve learnt from over the years on this fascinating journey,” he said.

These are the most recent in a long line of accolades for Professor Baldwin, who was the inaugural Director of the ANU Energy Change Institute (now part of the ANU Institute for Climate, Energy & Disaster Solutions), and is the Director of the ANU Grand Challenge Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific.

In 2004, Professor Baldwin was the winner of the Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science for establishing Science meets Parliament. In 2007, he was awarded the W.H. Beattie Steele Medal, the highest honour of the Australian Optical Society. Then in 2010, he was awarded the Barry Inglis Medal by the National Measurement Institute for excellence in precision measurement.

Other ATSE New Fellows include ANU alumni Dr James Johnson and Dr Sue Keay, as well as the new Honorary ATSE Fellow, ANU alumni Distinguished Professor Marcia Langton.