ANU Energy Update 2020

Presented by the ANU Energy Change Institute in cooperation with the Energy Research Institutes Council for Australia (ERICA).

This year Energy Update involves a special online discussion on the World Energy Outlook 2020 (WEO 2020) from the International Energy Agency (IEA) in Paris, presented by Ian Cronshaw who has contributed to 13 WEOs for the IEA.

He'll be accompanied by a panel of energy experts, including Nicola Falcon, GM Forecasting, Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) , Prof Kylie Catchpole (ANU Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering), Luke Menzel (CEO, Energy Efficiency Council) and Prof Stephen Wilson (Centre for Energy Futures, UQ).

Ian's presentation will focus on the main elements of the WEO including the energy consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the importance of government policy in hastening the energy transition.

He will outline five key elements in the WEO necessary for a zero carbon future: decarbonising the electricity sector, extending electrification to sectors such as transport and low temperature heat, expanding electricity supply, increasing energy efficiency, and developing energy transition technologies we do not yet have, such as green steel.


The Energy Update format will be:

Introduction by ECI Director Prof Ken Baldwin (5 mins)

World Energy Outlook 2020 presentation (45 mins)

Panel discussion - AEMO's Nicola Falcon, Prof Kylie Catchpole (ANU), Luke Menzel (EEC) and Prof Stephen Wilson (UQ)  (40 mins)

Q&A (30 mins)


We will welcome your questions via the Zoom Q&A.

If you cannot access Zoom from your workplace, please install the Zoom app on your phone or other mobile device, and join via your cellular network.

This is a public event and it will be recorded for ANU TV.

By registering for this event you are also subscribing to the ANU Energy Change Institute / Climate Change Institute mailing list.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe button at the bottom of any correspondence.



Ian Cronshaw, Visiting Fellow, ANU Crawford School of Public Policy, and contributor to 13 World Energy Outlook reports, (IEA).

Nicola Falcon heads the Australian Energy Market Operator’s Forecasting division and is responsible for demand and supply forecasting for both electricity and gas. She is also responsible for delivering integrated system modelling and cost benefit analyses for AEMO’s Integrated System Plan, and reliability assessments to provide decision support for AEMO’s planning and operations teams, and industry. Nicola is also a member of the Energy Change Institute’s Advisory Board.

Professor Kylie Catchpole is based at the ANU Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering. Her research interests in are new materials for solar cells and solar fuels as well as the broader energy transition. She has a physics degree from the ANU, winning a University Medal, and a PhD from the ANU. She was a Post-doctoral Fellow at the University of New South Wales and the FOM Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics, Amsterdam. She has published over 100 papers, which have been cited over 8,000 times to date. Her work on nanophotonic light trapping was listed as one of MIT Technology Review’s ‘10 most important emerging technologies’. In 2013 she was awarded a Future Fellowship from the Australian Research Council and in 2015 she was awarded the John Booker Medal for Engineering Science from the Australian Academy of Science.

Luke Menzel is CEO of the Energy Efficiency Council, a not-for-profit membership association for businesses, universities, governments and NGOs. Luke is one of Australia’s leading advocates for the role of energy efficiency, energy management and demand response in Australia’s energy transition. He is Vice-President of the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council, sits on the NABERS National Steering Committee, is a member of Standards Australia’s EN001 Energy Standard committee, and is the Lead Chair for the NSW Government’s Green Globe Awards.

Professor Stephen Wilson is Director of the Centre for Energy Futures at UQ. Prior to academia, Stephen worked for 25 years as an energy economist on studies and projects in over thirty countries, working his way from energy efficiency programs in Australia before the market reforms through end use data bases, greenhouse gas studies, and the politics of electricity transmission and generation in Hong Kong, to gas security of supply between the Caspian Sea, Vienna, Brussels and London. Returning to Australia brought him into close contact with uranium and coal mines, and coke works and power plants in China. Stephen’s research focuses on the technical, economic, commercial and market challenges of integrating variable renewable energy in power systems; market design and energy policy; and the development of new technology and the deployment of technologies new to a market.

Professor Ken Baldwin is the inaugural Director of the Australian National University’s (ANU) Energy Change Institute, an inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellow, and Director of the ANU Grand Challenge: Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific. The main focus of his work is to help drive the energy transition, particularly for Australia’s future export industries based on renewable energy. Professor Baldwin is an inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellow, and winner of the 2004 Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science, for his role in initiating and championing “Science meets Parliament”. In 2007, he was awarded the W.H. Beattie Steele Medal, the highest honour of the Australian Optical Society. In 2010 he was awarded the Barry Inglis Medal by the National Measurement Institute for excellence in precision measurement. Professor Baldwin is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics (UK), the Optical Society of America and the Australian Institute of Physics.