Professor Kenneth Baldwin

BSc Hons I, MSc - ANU; DIC, PhD - London; FAIP, FlnstP, FOSA, FAPS
Director, ANU Grand Challenge: Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific

Professor Ken Baldwin is Director of the ANU Grand Challenge: Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific, an inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellow, and was the inaugural Director of the Australian National University’s (ANU) Energy Change Institute.

The main focus of his work is to help drive the energy transition, particularly for Australia’s future export industries based on renewable energy.

He has held the following appointments:

  • Project Steering Committee, Australian Energy Technology Assessment (2011-2013)
  • Board member, South East Region of Renewable Energy Excellence (SERREE, 2014-2019)
  • Socio-Economic Modelling Advisory Committee, South Australian Nuclear Fuel Cycle Royal Commission (2015-2017)
  • Chair, Energy Cluster, the Australia-Indonesia Centre (2015-2018)
  • Founding Chair, Energy Research Institutes Council for Australia (ERICA, 2018-2019)
  • Steering Committee, CSIRO Hydrogen Research, Development and Demonstration Report (2019)
  • Australian Council of Learned Academies (ACOLA) Steering Committee, Australian Energy Transition Research Plan (2019-2020).


Professor Baldwin is an inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellow, and winner of the 2004 Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science, for his role in initiating and championing “Science meets Parliament”.

In 2007, he was awarded the W.H. Beattie Steele Medal, the highest honour of the Australian Optical Society. In 2010 he was awarded the Barry Inglis Medal by the National Measurement Institute for excellence in precision measurement.

Professor Baldwin is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics (UK), the Optical Society of America and the Australian Institute of Physics.

View Professor Baldwin’s ANU Researcher profile.